Daryl Bunn Fine Art Photography featured at Biscottis

Daryl Bunn will be featured at Biscottis from August 22 to October 31 in Avondale.  Stop by for delicious cuisine and captivating art.

Daryl Bunn Bio

Interview with Daryl by JJ

How did you come up with ideas for your art?
I’ve been a commercial photographer for longer than I care to admit fulfilling the demands of my clients & art directors. Making sure the products are perfectly composed, lit, & also provide creative input. It’s been a wonderful career.

But one day it hit me that I hadn’t shot anything for myself in many years, and I missed the thrill I remember when I got my first camera when I was just 13 years old. I wanted that feeling back, so I started shooting what I call my “Self Expression” work, where I’m the boss, the client, & art director.

How did you make it? (physical and mental process)
I shoot (photograph) with a ridiculous high-resolution camera. It allows the images to be up to 80” yet you can walk up to them & see every nuance & the detail is shocking. The larger the print the more they impress.

With my commercial work the eye has to be always on. With my fine art work the eye is either on or in sleep mode. When it’s time to self-express the creative eye jumps into overdrive. It doesn’t always work though, sometimes you just have to walk away & try another day. You have to be very careful not to over work the image. Also I insist my fine art work is not retouched, it must be perfect as is, as nature gave it to us. It’s part of Her charm.

What do you see as the strengths of your art, visually or conceptually?
Lighting is key, after all the only way we can see is by light bouncing off something into our eyes. Composition as well, the understanding of spaceial tension, & avoidance of touching tangents can make or break the image.  My major is actually graphic design, not photography.

What is the best comment you have ever heard from a patron and/or viewer of your artwork?
“WOW!  We must take that home tonight.”  Then when Preston Haskell said “I’ll take that, that, that, & that” about my contemporary serigraphs, a silkscreen process I’ve also returned to for “self expression”. They are strangely Asian in feel & I don’t know why. When asked I say simply, “ It’s not my fault Asian artists have such a great sense of design”.

What artist or artists – art historic or contemporary – inspire you the most?
Of course Edward Weston. And Jerry Uelsmann. Mr. Uelsmann’s work is so conceptual & truly hand crafted perfection it boggles the mind. We’ve hosted two shows for him in Jacksonville. I’ll never be Jerry, or Edward.  But trying my best.

http://www.darylbunnfineart.com/

Leave a Reply

